Rainbow Lone Star and Some Flowers

Finally I had some exciting product came out of rainbow colored fabrics. I mentioned in my last post how I came up with the idea of lone star. Later I went through online tutorials and found this fabulous helpful homemaker blog. I am very bad at following patterns. It makes me feel guilty that I am not using my brain. But my idea of adding all 7 rainbow colors would have made a bigger block and I didn’t want that to happen. So I decided to follow the pattern exactly how it was posted. This tutorial was made for 5 fabrics. As I had to incorporate the rainbow colors, I made a strip with purple and blue together. It gave a little weird look but I liked how it came out at the end.

fe5c4-dsc_0854

Those Y-seams looked intimidating, but I managed to give it a good finish. Only change I made was adding triangular background fabrics before the square ones. Here is the finished block before quilting.

Finished block before quilting

when it came to quilting, I wanted to do some machine quilting. But didn’t have multicolored thread. Somehow I couldn’t agree on any colored threads I had in my collection. Finally I came up with the idea of spiral quilting with matching colored threads for each set of colors.

Here is the finished quilt after hand binding:

Fabulous Finish!!!!!!!!!!!!

DSC_0900

Backside of the quilt

As usual my models :-)

As usual my models 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally here are my other babies – some beautiful flowers from my garden to cheer your day :-).

DSC_0910 DSC_0916 DSC_0919 DSC_0926 IMG_20150605_175836117 IMG_20150604_094647707 IMG_20150607_100641358 IMG_20150607_100635283 DSC_0915

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I planted some tomatoes and seeded some green beans too :-). A cute bunny baby from our neighbor’s yard. Excited that summer is here :-)).

Thanks for stopping by. Meet you in my next post. Till then be good :-).

Jyothi

Linking my post to : 1. http://www.crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/

2. http://confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/

6 responses

  1. Beautifully done! I’m very glad my tutorial was helpful to you. Your kids are darling and I love all your flowers.

    Like

    1. Thank You very much….. Loved your website. Keep on going…..

      Like

  2. Your quilt turned out beautifully, Love the quilting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank You very much :-).

      Like

  3. Beautiful job!!

    Like

    1. Thank You very Much 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment